The Future of Wrap Me in Phyllo Dough

Though I will no longer be in Greece starting just two weeks from now, I definitely want to keep up this blog. I have had so much fun with it, and it’s been surprisingly successful. The goal of the Fulbright program is to create peace between nations simply by getting to know one another, and the blog has become my small way of helping the rest of the world get to know Greece. I’ve enjoyed it immensely, and I want to thank you all for reading! I hope you’ve been having fun too.

That said, the central idea behind this blog was the fact that I was living in Greece, and as I no longer will be, the subject matter must change slightly. I still want to write about Greece, but without the immediacy of actually living there, this will naturally be limited. However, I certainly think there will still be plenty to write about. I mean, there can’t be that many 23 year-old redheads living in Idaho who happen to be obsessed with Greece, right? So, in the interest of keeping my audience happy, I have the following questions for you:

1. How much would you like to see about Greece still, and in what ways?
Ideas: Greek recipes, Greek word-of-the-day, review of books about Greece

2. What have you enjoyed the most so far? Do you have any ideas for keeping that specific aspect up once I am back in the States?

3. In general, what do you want to see on Wrap Me in Phyllo Dough in the future?

4. I’m thinking of trying to use the posts from my year in Greece in putting together a book. What do you think of this idea? Do you have any tips for me in setting out into the wild world of trying to get something published?

I have my own ideas, but I’m curious to hear what you think. In any case, when it comes to the future of Wrap Me in Phyllo Dough, you can certainly expect the following:

– A full account of reverse culture shock, in all its glory. And once the worst of the reverse culture shock as subsided, continual comparisons between Greek and American lifestyles.
– Lots and lots of recipes, as I will finally have access to a kitchen again!! Many of them will be Greek recipes, of course.
– Anecdotes from life in grad school.
– Discussions of books/book reviews, as I will be studying for my MA in English.
– Future trips to Greece (the minute I land on American soil, every spare penny will be saved!).
– More writing about running, as I was doing while training for my half marathon. This came to a halt because of my knee problems, but hopefully seeing a doctor back home will help!
– And, of course, more photography to accompany all these topics.

I highly appreciate your insight, dear readers. This has been a blast–thanks for staying in touch, and I hope we will continue to have this much fun far into the future!

Στην υγειά σας,

Kate

About wrap me in phyllo dough

travel addict. greece-obsessed. grad student. bottomless pit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Future of Wrap Me in Phyllo Dough

  1. I’m food obsessed too so I can never see enough recipes and food photos. Sorry to hear you’re leaving Greece, but good luck with your next journey.

  2. Spiros says:

    When you’ll be back at Greece? Athens is still waiting for you! Να είσαι καλα!

  3. Regina says:

    Γεια σου, Κέιτ. Καλά είσαι;
    It was a great pleasure to learn about your experience in Greece. It is a wonderful Country, isn’t it? Maybe we meet each other there next year! What do you think about it? Because I am sure you’ll be back there as soon as possible!!! xaxaxa
    What have I enjoyed the most so far? EVERYTHING but especially the way you’ve “captured” the Greek people soul!! If you understand what I mean! Reading your posts I felt like I was there!! Thank you very much!
    Of course I hope you keep up this blog, writing specially about your experience with the Greek people (I love them!), and pictures, a lot of pictures!!!!!
    Thanks for sharing!
    I hope you have a lot of fun in your last two weeks in this paradise!
    Στην γειά σου!!!

  4. David Glidden says:

    My best advice, Kate, is to convert and expand your blog into a book entitled Wrap Me In Phyllo Dough. A good focus would be on food/people/places (with lots of pix) but it might be good to parallel those hometown experiences with reflections on what was also happening politically in Greece, during your stay, with its massive debt crisis, the potential fall of the Euro, riots and demonstrations over such matters as retaining the 13th month of salary. Two parallel worlds existing side by side, until a collision.

  5. I love the idea of a book! As I mentioned previously, you have a great ability to tell stories. I think as long as you keep being yourself and bringing your imagination to the table, you will have much success. Just keep writing!

Leave a Reply

