The Ancient Theatre at Epidavros

Greetings from lovely Nafplio! Today is day one of my five-day solo trip through the Peloponnese. For the first three days, I’m using Nafplio as a base for exploring the area, and then spending two days in the Mani (the most barren, rugged and wild area of Greece) before heading back home.

But before I tell you all about Epidavros, welcome to my new readers! Wrap Me in Phyllo Dough made Freshly Pressed this week, and I’m so thrilled with all your comments and e-mails. Actually, to be honest, I’m really quite touched. Thank you! Happy to have you along for more adventures!

This is saved on my desktop as "BOOYAH.jpg."

Speaking of adventures, today I went to an ancient theatre from the 4th century! This is not only exciting because of its prolific ancient-ness, but also because I happen to be a huge theatre nerd.

As you can see, my theatrical career has been very serious and highbrow:

I’m all about honing the craft.

Naturally, such a respectable artist (nay, artiste!) should want to visit the Epidavros theatre. It’s one of the most famous ancient theatres in all of Greece. In the summer, a huge theatre festival is held there annually (add to the list of Things to Do When I Come Back: check).

Equally natural was the fact that a respectable artiste as myself would need to heartily fortify myself for such an important pilgrimage. I began this crucial preparation last night, and continued this morning. It was rough.

Sauteed horta (wild greens) with sun-dried tomatoes, onions and parmesan cheese! The sweetness of the tomatoes was a great way to offset the bitter greens.

Moussaka, my LOVE! I restrained myself from mowing down for two seconds to take a picture so you could see the layers: potato, minced meat, eggplant and tomato, and bechamel, topped off with tomato sauce and cheese. OHMYGAH.

Homemade tiropita for breakfast at my hotel! Tiropita is a traditional cheese pie. It's like spanekopita, for those of you who have heard of it, but with cheese instead of spinach. Breakfast also included Greek yogurt with honey, strawberries, pineapple and cinnamon!

Feeling full & happy (two qualities which usually go together for me), I caught the bus to Epidavros to check out the theatre. It’s a short walk from the bus stop to the site, and then up a set of stone steps, from which the theatre suddenly swings into view.

The view of the theatre waiting for you at the top of the steps.

This theatre is incredible. The organization, the precision, and the acoustics are all simply astounding! When you take into consideration how unbelievably old it is, it’s simply too much for my poor little brain to handle.

And then there’s the view.

Ugh. I GUESS I would want to see a play here...

All in all, this theatre totally blew my mind. It can seat 15,000 people, and yet, I could hear every single word being spoken by the tour guide standing center stage when I was sitting in the top row of seats!

Old Greek rocks! My favorite!!

There are little flowers & weeds poking up through the stone all across the theatre.

Can you imagine performing down there? My stomach flips just thinking about it!

Happy theatre nerd = slow loris move (Google "tickling slow loris")

Now that I’m back in Nafplio, what could I possibly add to this day to make it even better? I did a little shopping; one couple I know (cough) who may or may not be getting married soon (cough cough) may or may not have some fun Greek things headed their way shortly! And now, I think… first, yoga. Then reading. And wine! And more fortification. (The artiste’s pilgrimage to the theatre was simply draining… quick! More moussaka!)

Ciao for niao,

Kate

About wrap me in phyllo dough

travel addict. greece-obsessed. grad student. bottomless pit.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Ancient Theatre at Epidavros

  1. That looks like the best breakfast ever!

    • k8peterson says:

      It was delish, and something you can totally recreate! I managed to make tiropita a few times before I left for Greece, and it’s actually pretty easy; as long as you use frozen phyllo dough, which 1) is available at many grocery stores and 2) is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of, as phyllo is fun to make but takes FOREVER! I like this recipe because it tells you how to make triangle-shaped tiropita, which I like because you get the crunch on all sides: http://www.ultimate-guide-to-greek-food.com/cheese-pie.html

      As for the yogurt, it’s getting to be pretty trendy these days outside of Greece, which is good but dangerous. Be careful that you’re actually buying Greek yogurt, and that it isn’t just “Greek” because of the archaic-looking font on the outside. Real Greek yogurt should be crazy thick and definitely not have any flavoring. Buy it “plain” flavor and sweeten it with honey and/or fruit.

      Mmm. After all that typing, I think I need some more tiropita and Greek yogurt…

  2. Jude says:

    I came here from Cupcakes.gr….lovely lady
    We sailed from Cornwall, UK to Crete 7 years ago and stopped off at Mani…incredible place. I hope you enjoy.
    Take a look at my blog for a peek into Crete life, I hope you enjoy your adventures
    http://www.cariadincrete.blogspot.com

    Jude

    • k8peterson says:

      I loved Crete! I only had time to visit Irakleio, Rethymno and Chania, but am already planning to go back when I can. My undergraduate thesis was on Kazantzakis, and I love good food… so naturally, I love Crete! You are lucky to get to spend so much time there. I will most definitely take a look at your blog, to live vicariously through you when I go back to the US in a month and a half!

  3. Pingback: The Ancient Theatre at Epidavros » Greece on WEB

Leave a Reply

