“Live Well, Travel Well”

That’s the slogan for TrekDek, a new project being launched by a former study abroad classmate of mine. TrekDek represents an effort to encourage travelers to seek out exciting and meaningful experiences while traveling. There are two components: a website, which will act as a sort of social networking site for travelers, and playing cards that pose “challenges” to travelers (for example, “Eat something you’ve never eaten before [extra points for bugs]”).

A few sample cards from TrekDek.

The goal, in Dale’s words, is the following:

“My goal for TrekDek is to bring the international hostel lobby online. For those of you have stayed in a hostel before, you’ve probably observed that there are always people playing cards, swapping travel stories, and sharing travel tips and advice. In my travel experience, I find that the hostel lobby is a great jumping off point for meaningful travel experiences. Sometimes other travelers will recommend you do things that aren’t in your guide book, other times you will hit it off and even travel together for a while.  TrekDek encourages meaningful experiences and fond memories by motivating you to think outside the guidebook.

I bring this to your attention for two reasons. One, I think it’s an awesome idea, and I’m always looking for new and interesting travel-related news to share. And two, as it’s a new project, Dale’s looking for some help getting it launched.

So take a look, and if you can help out, please do! A modest donation gets you a whole set of TrekDek cards to take with you on your next adventure. And even if you can’t help out, take a gander at the first 52 Treks, posted on the TrekDek website.

I myself am going to be trying out a few of the Treks on one of my upcoming trips, so I’ll keep you posted on how it turns out! (And I must confess that with two months left in Greece, I can’t help but start scheming for my next international adventure already… the sickness is deep, my friends.)

Cheers!

KP

About wrap me in phyllo dough

travel addict. greece-obsessed. grad student. bottomless pit.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Live Well, Travel Well”

  1. dmd149 says:

    Thanks for the post dude. My next batch of samples is arriving this week. I’ll make sure to get some out to you ASAP.

    Cheers,

    Dale

    • k8peterson says:

      My pleasure! And that would be great. I’m here for another two months, but I will say it takes things an extraordinarily long time to reach me at my school, due to a combination of overseas post and school bureaucracy. I’ll let you know when I get them just to be sure. Peace!

Leave a Reply

