Guess what time it is?

This summer, a little boy at the summer camp I work at came up to me and said, “Kate, do you know what time it is?!” I replied that I did not. He then cried, “It’s ADVENTURE TIME!!!”

Well, folks, it’s adventure time. I leave in less than 36 hours. Most of my things are packed, and tomorrow I will enjoy going out for one last enormous American breakfast (which is far from the most important meal of the day in Greece, apparently), do random errands (get passport photos taken for my residence permit, buy a new bottle of my hair crap at Target, ship my books to my foreign self, etc), and have a last dinner with my parents & boyfriend.

But! There is spanekopita in sight, and eager pupils, and, as excited camper boy said, ADVENTURE.

Speaking of which, I had thought all along that our orientation would be in Athens. It’s at the end of September, and the e-mails I had received on the topic said I needed to make my own travel arrangements to Athens, and so on and so forth. I recently received a more detailed e-mail, which added that we’re to meet at the port. (My right eyebrow went up.) From there, we’ll board the ferry to the island of Aegina, where the orientation will take place. (My jaw dropped open.) I can’t think of a better place anywhere for any kind of orientation than the freaking Greek islands. Wheeee!

Lastly, the Greek is progressing fairly well. I can now say that I’m a teacher, and describe my residence, and talk about my family. (Baby steps, people. Baby steps.) I listened to Greek radio yesterday and actually caught a few words!

Alright, kinder. My next post will be from Greece. Here we go!!

Cheers,

KP

About wrap me in phyllo dough

travel addict. greece-obsessed. grad student. bottomless pit.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guess what time it is?

  1. astrokatie says:

    Hi. I’m Katie. You can always tell people that your residence has a small hallway, if you run out of conversation topics. That’s… useful.

    • k8peterson says:

      You can always count on us speechies to be the best conversationalists ever. And yes, I can say that– spiti moo ehi ena mikro hol! Look at me go!! Thanks, Katie. I feel better now.

  2. Kate,
    I am so happy for you! The camper is right…this is the best ADVENTURE ever!! Please make sure to make time to keep your loyal fans updated on your Greek life. I miss you and will be sending you happy thoughts as you make this HUGE transition.
    Love!
    Sarah

  3. Trudy says:

    I believe there is a Nova Cafe in Thessaloniki just a short segway ride from you new apartment!

    ότι η περιπέτεια χρόνο!

  4. Julia B. says:

    You came to Oregon and I missed it? I am horrified. Even living on a tropical Hawaiian island is just not as enjoyable as it could have been if I were in possession of a Kate.

    I am so excited for you, you are going to have a FAN-FREAKING-TABULOUS time! Please eat lots of gyros for me.

    P.S. Send me your new mailing address!

  5. Yay Adventure! That is a very important time. It will be so fun to hear about your time there!

Leave a Reply

